The Towers Asylum

Opened in 1869 as a hospital for the insane The Towers Asylum has been home to some very disturbed patients during it’s long history. The 30 acre site in Humberstone was purchased for the hospital by Leicestershire Borough Council from the estate of the late Benjamin Broadbent.

Work was begun on the neo gothic, 4-storey building in 1867, and the first patients were admitted in September 1869, the whole project cost around £50,000. There were 11 single bedrooms for male patients, and 13 bedrooms for female patients. Two of each are

described as padded rooms. In addition to these rooms there were 6 female, and 5 male cemented rooms, for particularly difficult patients.

Visiting this now abandoned hospital is an intense experience. The hospital was founded with the best intentions of caring for the insane in the community, but overcrowding and ineffective treatments meant that conditions for hospital patients often became be very unpleasant. The atmosphere of those experiences seems to linger in the building. In the hospital basement shackles have been discovered which were once clearly used for controlling patients. To keep them fixed to the wall, or to stop them injuring themselves, or members of staff.

Accounts of paranormal experience here have been many. Perhaps unsurprisingly, these often these manifest as cries of anger and frustration being heard echoing through the abandoned rooms.

Objects are often thrown at visitors as they make their way around The Towers, doors are heard to bang shut without any explanation. Other, louder bangs are heard which have no obvious rational explanation. Visitors have reported shadowy figures creeping around the building. There have been light anomalies, and strange mists arising from nowhere. This whole building is shrouded in a sense of fear that defies rational explanation, but which is connected to the history of the site, and the long association with madness, pain, and misery.

Share