The Fulford family have owned the Manor at Great Fulford since at least 1190, and the Manor is even listed in the Domesday book. The present house was built in the early 1500s, and is what is known as a semi-fortified mansion. Particularly unique features of the house include the 17th century staircase and a beautifully pannelled Great Hall. Less majestic, but perhaps more fascinating from a paranormal perspective are the cellars and the attic which have a certain unwelcoming atmosphere to them.
Fulford Manor started as a Royalist stronghold during the English Civil war, but was captured by forces loyal to Parliament in 1642. It went on to change hands several times until 1646. The constant conflict around the house resulted in significant damage to the property and the loss of a great many lives on both sides of war.
Full restoration of the house did not take place until the late 17th century when Colonel Francis Fulford begain a major program of repairs. The house that is visible today is the result of another, later remodelling which occurred at the start of the 19th century under the oversight of the architect James Wyatt.
With the same family having ownership of the property over such a prolonged period of time, it is no surprise that many tales have been preserved of supernatural activity over the years. Doors slamming of their own accord, and guests waking in the night and finding themselves pinned to their beds. Have both been reported by the family in recent times.
Poltergeist activity has been reported here on numerous occasions, as have apparitions, so a visit to Fulford Manor can often be a very intense experience, and visitors should prepare themselves for anything. Sudden changes in temperature, unexplained light anomalies, and strange EMF readings are commonplace have all be recorded at Fulford Manor on visits by paranormal experts.